Selkirk student successes celebrated

Selkirk Secondary School held its annual awards night last week, recognizing excellence in scholastics, sports and citizenship.

Subject Awards

Grade 8

Core 8 Math – Montana Ackerman

Core 8 Social Studies – Parker Bevilacqua

PE 8 – Saige Black

Outstanding Junior Band – Saige Black

French 8 – Jasmine Brenton

Science 8 – Jasmine Brenton

Core 8 Science – Sadie DeMars

Core 8 French – Sadie DeMars

English 8 – Sadie DeMars

Core 8 Math – Jake Ferguson

Core 8 Math – Olivia Fraser

English 8 – Olivia Fraser

Math 8 – Dallis Hunt

Math 8 – Dalynne Hunt

Core 8 French – Eden Laflamme

Outstanding Junior Band – Angus MacLeod

Core 8 Math. – Caden Meyer

Core 8 Science – Corbin Otte

Core 8 Science – Tristyn Passey

Core 8 Social Studies – Tristyn Passey

Core 8 French – Dexter Sommerville

Core 8 Social Studies – Jamiee Spring

Core 8 French – Adison Steel

Core 8 Social Studies – Logan Strauss

Core 8 Science – Cameron Thompson

Social Studies – Hailey Renaud

Grade 9

Social Studies 9 – Quinn Bellm

Science 9 – Josie Bova

English 9 – Zoe Dancer

French 9 – Zoe Dancer

Science 9 – Zoe Dancer

PE 9 – Kori Darago

Science 9 – Holly Gale

French 9 – Kierra Gould

Math 9 – Caetlyn Gray

Math 9 – Alexis Hughes

English 9 – Jane Veilleux

Math 9 – Rachel Westergaard

Science 9 – Tuva Woestenenk

Grade 10

Junior Art – Emma Andrews

Science 10 – Declan Armstrong

Woodwork 10 – Lily Charoenchitrwattana

Drafting and Design – Lily Charoenchitrwattana

New Media and Spoken Language 10 – Madison Corbett

PE 10 – Tye Corsie

Junior Art – Charlize Du Preez

Composition and Literary Studies 10 – Charlize Du Preez

Social Studies 10 – Charlize Du Preez

Junior Foods – Naomi Mihalcheon

Social Justice 12 – Naomi Mihalcheon

Foundations and PreCalculus 10 – Riley Payne

French 10 – Cindy Reimel

Woodwork 10 – Ryan Renaud

Metals 10 (Level 1) – Logan Wahlstrom

Science 10 -Colton Zawada

Grade 11

English 11 – Marielle Ackerman

Pre-Calculus 11 – Marielle Ackermann

Metals 11 (Level 2) – Mike Blackwell

Foundations of Trades 10 – 12 – Mike Blackwell

Senior Art – Kaila Buchy

Law 12 – Maddy Clubbly

Pre-Calculus 11 – Molly Craig

History 12 – Molly Craig

Metals 10 (Level 1) – Sierra Dennis

Rhythm Section – Sam Diaz Aja

Outstanding Jazz Band Student – Hannah Doerksen

Science 11 – Jane Douglas

Outdoors Education Level 1 – Zack Dovell

French 11 – Jadyn Gould

English 11 – Meaghan Jarrett

Social Justice 12 – Severin Joho

Outdoors Education Level 3 – Pollen Kemp

Pre-Calculus 11 – Gretchen Miller

Bob Grigg Memorial for Outstanding Concent Band Student -Gretchen Miller

Social Justice 12 – GretchenMiller

Outdoors Education Level 2 – Annabelle Scott

Grade 12

Pre-Calculus 12 – Kieran Ackermann

Drafting and Design – Kieran Ackermann

Psychology 12 – Sarah Brooks-White

Outstanding Choral Student – Gwen Davies

Leadership – Morgan Dobi

Leadership – Mattea Greiner

Senior Woodwork – Braydon Hoglund

Leadership – Sydney Hoko

Senior Foods – David Howe

Drafting and Design – David Howe

Metals 12 (Level 3) – Dalton Hunt

Foundations of Trades 10 – 12 – Dalton Hunt

Pre-Calculus 12 – Dustin Jowsey

Metals 11 (Level 2) – Joe Lee

Metals 12 (Level 3) – Gabe L’Heureux

English 12 – Emma MacLeod

French 12 – Molly Miller

Creative Writing 12 – Brittany Murphy

Science 12 – Patrick Stone

Pre-Calculus 12 – Patrick Stone

Calculus 12 – Patrick Stone

PE Department – Arissa Toffolo

Outstanding Vocal Jazz Student – Arissa Toffolo

Senior Art – Tyler White

Senior Woodwork – Jeremy Woods

Drafting and Design – Jeremy Woods

Aboriginal Education.

Braedan Haner

Andrew McWilliams

Hailey Stober

International Student

Rahel Braeucker

Severin Joho

Sports School – Jerry Bancks Award – Braiden Koran

Grade 8 Awards of Excellence

Sadie DeMars

Kana Dolgopol

Brendan Du Preez

Dalynne Hunt

Jorday Kryzwicki

Tristyn Passey

Hailey Renaud

Layla Cilliphant Chalabi

Dexter Sommerville

Adison Steel

Ezra Zanini

Grade 9 Awards of Excellence

Abigail Betker

Josie Bova

Amy Brooks-White

Nela Buchar

Robbie Clive

Zoe Dancer,

Kori Darago

Saige De Paoli

Iain Douglas

Gabby Erven

Holly Gale

Lola Garsonnin

Kiera Gould

Caetlyn Gray

Paris Howe

Jane Veilleux

Rachel Westergaard

Grade 10 Awards of Excellence

Declan Armstrong

Lily Chareonchitrwattana

Darah Clarke

Charlize Du Preez

Emery Hoko

Haylee Laturnus

Georgia McKinnon

Naomi Mihalcheon

Leith Olafson

Riley Payne

Jayden Perpelitz

Ryan Renaud

Cindy Riemel

Mark van Zyl

Colton Zawada

Grade 11 Awards of Excellence

Marielle Ackermann

Mike Blackwell

Rahel Braeucker

Kaila Buchy

Maddy Clubley

Aspen Cooper

Molly Craig

Sierra Dennis

Sam Diaz Aja

Hannah Doerksen

Jane Douglas

Yannik Ebert

Jadyn Gould

Heidi Howe

Meaghan Jarrett

Severin Joho

Gretchen Miller

Seth Swagar

Grade 12 Awards of Excellence

Kieran Ackermann

Donovan Anderson

Sarah Brooks-White

Gwenyth Davies

Thea De Paoli

Morgan Dobi

Nathan Giguere

Braedan Haner

Dustin Jowsey

Emma MacLeod

Violet McPhee

Anna Pernu

Hailey Stober

Paddy Stone

Garrett Symes

Arissa Toffolo

Tyler White

Weston Zawada

Top Academic Awards (determined by academic achievement/honour roll)

Grade 8 – Sadie DeMars

Grade 9 – Zoe Dancer

Grade 10 – Declan Armstrong

Grade 11 – Marielle Ackermann

Grade 12 – Paddy Stone

Top Citizenship Awards (decided by Awards Committee)

Grade 8 – Parker Bevilacqua

Grade 9 – Esme Eskelin

Grade 9 – Caetlyn Gray

Grade 10 – Madison Corbett

Grade 11 – Maddy Clubley

Grade 12 – Sydney Hoko

Junior Awards of Distinction (Grade 9)

Abigail Betker

Josie Bova

Amy Brooks-White

Zoe Dancer

Kori Darago

Holly Gale

Lola Garsonnin

Kiera Gould

Paris Howe

Jane Veilleux

Senior Awards of Distinction (Grade 12)

Kieran Ackermann

Sarah Brooks-White

Emma MacLeod

Molly Miller

Patrick Stone

Arissa Toffolo

Tyler White

Principal’s Award – Molly Miller


Just Posted

Counterfeit bills still being passed in Kimberley Cranbrook area

The $100 counterfeit bills identified in Kimberley earlier this month have been… Continue reading

English acoustic folk duo Sandtimer in concert at Studio 64, Kimberley

Fresh from performing at the Maumbury Festival in Dorchester, England, on August… Continue reading

East Kootenay wakesurfers have success in national championships

Many local riders competed in the 2019 Nautique Canadian Wakesurf National Championships

Kimberley Food Bank accepting back to school donations

Kimberley FOCUS, represented by Joan Jobe and Noweata Schofer, recently dropped off… Continue reading

Elk River reclaims property as its own

Laws make it harder to protect private land than ever before says farmer, local government

B.C. sockeye returns drop as official calls 2019 ‘extremely challenging’

Federal government says officials are seeing the same thing off Alaska and Washington state

Expanded support to help B.C. youth from care attend university still falling short

Inadequate support, limited awareness and eligibility restrictions some of the existing challenges

Ethnic media aim to help maintain boost in voting by new Canadians

Statistics Canada says new Canadians made up about one-fifth of the voting population in 2016

Cross-examination begins for B.C. dad accused of killing young daughters

Andrew Berry is charged in the deaths of six-year-old Chloe and four-year-old Aubrey in 2017

Dog attacked by river otters, Penticton owner says

Marie Fletcher says her dog was pulled underwater by four river otters in the Penticton Channel

BC SPCA overwhelmed with cats, kittens needing homes

Large number of cruelty investigations, plus normal ‘kitten season’ to blame

B.C. Hydro applies for rare cut in electricity rates next year

Province wrote off $1.1 billion debt to help reverse rate increase

Speculation tax forces sale of Greater Victoria’s iconic ‘Tulip House’

Bob and Jan Fleming selling their retirement home famous for its thousands of tulips

Most Read