All you need to know for opening day at Kimberley Alpine Resort

Early season discounts on lift tickets will be available

One of the best views in skiing

One of the best views in skiing

As reported in Wednesday’s Bulletin, the Kimberley Alpine Resort will open this Saturday, December 10 despite a less than stellar snowfall thus far.

Here’s what you need to know for your first run.

Please be cautious of early season hazards, and be aware that first-timer beginner terrain will not yet be available.  Early season discounts on lift tickets will be available.

The Resort will open the Main Run and run the Northstar Quad Chair on Saturday.

““We are excited to welcome everyone up for the start of the 2016/17 ski season this Saturday, December 10th,” said KAR Area Manager Ted Funston. “Mother Nature and this week’s wintry weather has given a boost to our mountain and snowmaking crews, and we are pleased to be able to offer the Northstar Quad Chair and the Main run starting this weekend.  Our crews are working around the clock right now to get us ready for our Saturday morning opening. We are also working hard to get the backside ready for skiing and riding as soon as is possible. The weather is looking favourable for us with colder temperatures, and more snow in the forecast soon.

The resort will remain open during the week, but Kimberley Alpine Pass holders are welcome to continue riding for free at Fernie Alpine Resort and Kicking Horse Mountain resort until Friday, December 16th.

The popular local band The Hollers will be kicking off the apres ski season in the Stemwinder Bar & Grill on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

The Sports Alpine Retail Shop located in the base will be open for your ski or snowboard accessory needs, and for Christmas shopping. 250-432-0314

The Ski School will be open for lessons and for multi-week program sales. 250-432-0315

The Rental and Repair shop will be open. 250-432-0309

Here is the entire Stemwinder lineup for the holiday season.

Saturday Dec 10, 2016 Hollers 3-6pm

Sunday Dec 11, 2016 Hollers 3-6pm

Saturday Dec 17, 2016 George Plant 3-6pm

Sunday Dec 18, 2016 George Plant 3-6pm

Friday Dec 23, 2016 Dawson Ruthledge 3-6pm

Saturday Dec 24, 2016 Dawson Ruthledge 3-6pm

Monday Dec 26, 2016 Jtoner & Murph 3-6pm

Tuesday Dec 27, 2016 Jtoner & Murph 3-6pm

Marcus Steiner 8-11pm

Wednesday Dec 28, 2016 Heather Gemmell 3-6pm

Marcus Steiner 8-11pm

Thurs Dec 29, 2016 Heather Gemmell 3-6pm

Friday Dec 30, 2016 Heather Gemmell 3-6pm

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 High as Mountains 3-5pm & 9:30**

Sunday Jan 1, 2017 High as Mountains 3-6pm