Wilks is the Conservative candidate

MP Wilks unopposed for Conservative nomination in Kootenay Columbia

  • Jan. 23, 2015 3:00 p.m.
Kootenay Columbia MP David Wilks.

Kootenay Columbia MP David Wilks.

Boundary changes that significantly altered the size of Kootenay-Columbia Federal Constituency, by now including Nelson, Salmo, and Kaslo, made it necessary for the National Conservative Party to open a nomination process to select the candidate for the next general election.

Every Conservative party member of the riding was notified by mail from the national office that a nomination process would take place, with a specific closing date.  In preparation the local Electoral District Association chose a candidate selection committee to interview prospective applicants, for the position currently held by M.P. David Wilks.  National Party headquarters then informed us that they had only received one complete application, by the close of the designated time.  The local nomination committee then interviewed David Wilks and unanimously approved him.  The district association now declares that our current MP David Wilks is acclaimed the candidate for the next election.

The Kootenay-Columbia AGM elected more than twenty directors who have now chosen Dave Reeves (Cranbrook) as president, Garry Kalinski (Nelson) as Vice, to be assisted by Sandy McLeod (Kootenay Lake), Judy Wiwchar (Cranbrook) as secretary, and Gary Habart (Golden) as treasurer.